The Rise of the Blogosphere Intro

Aaron Barlow’s The Rise of the Blogosphere recounts the history and the development of the media and journalism. His book comprehensively highlights the changes that the industry has gone through. I really enjoyed reading the book and going on what seemed like a journey through time. Barlow’s incorporation of the history and rise of journalism and its characteristics in its early days was extremely interesting to read about. It’s incredible how far we have come since then. The most profound part of the book for me was the implications that 9/11 had on the realms of journalism and the media. Barlow describes it as a complete paradigm shift, especially when it came to blogs, the Internet’s role in informing the public, and the kind of information that was available. Barlow’s book left me with a lot of questions, mainly as to where we are going next. We’ve already come pretty far since the publication of the book and now that I’m aware of the changes that have happened, I’ll be paying more attention to the changes that will happen in the future.

In my first response, I pulled out a quote from the introduction about what “good journalism” can do, specifically in regards to what has been presently going on in the media and the new administration. I focus on how journalism, whether it be good or bad, can bring communities together in “times of crisis” on both sides of the political spectrum.

My second post, much like the beginning of Barlow’s book, focuses more on the history of journalism. I relate the coffeehouses of the early days of journalism to blogs, specifically blogs of the time in which they were just gaining momentum. Barlow points out that the coffeehouses gave citizens a way to speak and converse, specifically about politics, and this is very similar to the way many think of blogs.

As I mentioned in the first paragraph of this post, the book has made me think a lot about the future of the media and journalism, specifically about live streaming; this is pretty much what I wrote about in my third post. Barlow brings up how “technological changes” have had an impact on the industry, and it made me wonder what kinds of future changes will occur and what their implications will be.

My fourth response to the book recounts a personal experience in which I almost fell victim to the vastness of the Internet. Barlow reminds us that everything that is put on the Internet is permanent, and I explain how I think that is both a blessing and a curse.

My final response to The Rise of the Blogosphere includes some of what I mentioned earlier in this post. I recount what I remember about 9/11 and what the media was like before that (which isn’t much) and wonder what the event would have been like had we had the technologies available that we do today.

Leave a Reply

